Site icon

Quality Assurance Models


Quality Assurance Models provide Organizations a Quality Framework for producing High-Quality Goods & Services and for improving the quality processes. Quality Assurance Models set Quality Objectives and Standards for the organization. They are generic and non-prescriptive.

The models only specify what the organization’s quality system should achieve rather than how it should achieve. An organization can also be assessed against the quality model, fill the gaps, and if applicable, be certified as conforming to the quality model.

Quality Assurance Models

Some Quality Assurance Models are as follows:


ISO 9000

ISO is International Organization for Standardization. In Greek “ISO” means Equal. ISO 9000 series is a set of international standards on Quality Management and Assurance. The series are developed to help in the effective documentation and implementation of a Quality Management System(QMS).

The ISO 9000 standard series are as follows:

Some other ISO standards:

ISO 14001 – Environmental Management

ISO 27001 – Information Security Management

More Information on ISO:


The Software Capability Maturity Model(CMM) is a model developed by SEI(Software Engineering Institute). It is a generic quality model and fits all types of software development organizations.

It has five maturity levels that represent the maturity of software organizations and describes each level in terms of the KPA(Key Process Areas) that need to be addressed for that maturity level. Each KPA is defined by its goals and key practices.

CMMI – Capability Maturity Model Integration

P-CMM – People Capability Maturity Model.

More Information:

Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a customer-focused quality model. It was first developed and used in Motorola. Six Sigma measures defects in DPMO (Defects Per Million Opportunities) and aims at reducing variation in process to Six Sigma of 3.4 DPMO, or 99.99966% Yield.

To learn more on Six Sigma:

Exit mobile version