Site icon

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)


Software Development Life Cycle is the systematic methodology followed by organizations to produce high-quality software or software applications. It is also known as the Application Development Life Cycle.

SDLC Phases

There are different phases in SDLC as follows:




Planning & Feasibility

This is the initial phase of the SDLC. The project scope and objectives are planned. The project feasibility on several factors like budget, technical, operational, schedule, etc is analyzed.

Requirement Gathering &Analysis

This phase consists of requirements gathering and analysis. It may consist of meeting the stakeholders, interviews, questionnaires, workshops, etc. to gather and collect the requirements of the product.


In this phase, the product’s design specifications and architecture are created, documented, and reviewed.


During this phase, the software development team constructs the software product. They take the software design and convert it into source code, using a programming language and various tools. The development team then conducts unit testing on the code.

Testing & Deployment

In this phase, the QA Team executes the test plan to evaluate the quality of the software. This phase consists of finding and fixing the bugs in the software. End users run acceptance tests on the software. The application is deployed in the live production environment if the software is good to go.


This phase consists of maintaining the software, updating the software, and rolling out patches to fix any production defects. The software is maintained by fixing any defects and errors in the production environment.

The customer enhancements are fixed on time. Regular updates are rolled out to fix enhancements, security issues, and other customer-reported defects.

SDLC Process Models

Some of the SDLC process models that are widely used are as follows:


Exit mobile version